Congressman Butterfield Urges Residents, Businesses, and Farmers to Apply for Disaster Recovery Assistance

Sep 12, 2011
Press Release

Washington, DC - Congressman GK Butterfield urges residents in the First Congressional District to visit the FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers in their respective counties.

Congressman Butterfield also encourages those affected by Hurricane Irene to apply for federal assistance programs through FEMA and SBA.

Residents are asked to call the following toll-free tele-registration number for disaster survivors: 1-800-621-3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) can call 1-800-621-3362.

Below are Disaster Recovery locations in the First Congressional District:


Mid-Atlantic Safety Council

2871 Hwy. 17 South

Chocowinity, NC



Agriculture Building

359 Ferrell Lane

Halifax, NC



Plymouth Municipal Airport

1069 Airport Road

Washington, NC



Greene Co. Fire Dept.

201 Carolina Drive

Snow Hill, NC



Eckerd Drug Store

710 Degraffenreid Avenue

New Bern, NC



Agricultural Extension Center

403 Government Circle

Greenville, NC



Cooperative Extension Service Center

1791 Pink Hill Road (Hwy. 11/55 South)

Kinston, NC


Food Assistance and Nutrition Services

The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services will provide food assistance in the form of Disaster Food and Nutrition Services benefits (formerly called food stamps) in the following 24 additional disaster N.C. counties:

Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Johnston, Jones, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Warren, Washington and Wilson.          

Gov. Perdue secured the food assistance through her request for a presidential disaster declaration that was approved last week. The program, through the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is open to individuals not normally eligible for Food and Nutrition Services benefits, who were affected by Hurricane Irene.

Residents of the affected areas of these counties who are not currently receiving Food and Nutrition Services benefits may qualify for temporary assistance for a one-month period if:

·           Their home was damaged or destroyed

·           They have disaster-related expenses

·           They lost income

·           Had food loss as a result of a power loss of at least eight hours from Hurricane Irene. 

·           Eligibility is based on available income and resources.


Those applying for Disaster Food and Nutrition Services benefits will be asked to provide:

·           Proof of their identity along with proof of residency, such as a utility bill,

·           The Social Security numbers, if available, and dates of birth for all members of their household. 


Applicants should apply in the county where they reside. Applicants will have five consecutive days to apply for assistance beginning Saturday, Sept.10.

Households living in one of these 24 counties may use their Disaster Food and Nutrition Services Benefits to purchase hot prepared meals from retailers that are located in these counties who are authorized to accept EBT Benefits through Sept. 30, 2011.

Households who currently receive Food and Nutrition Services Benefits, that did not request a replacement of benefits, can apply for a supplement of benefits if the household suffered a disaster- related expense other than food loss.  Households that received replacement benefits do not need to apply for the Disaster Food and Nutrition Services Program.

Those needing to apply for Disaster Food and Nutrition Services may do so in person the following locations:


Bertie County DSS

110 Jasper Bazemore Avenue

Windsor, NC



Edenton-Chowan Recreation Department

(Old D.F. Walker Elementary School)

824 North Oakum Street

2869 Virginia Road

Edenton, NC



Edgecombe County DSS

3003 North Main Street

Tarboro, NC


Edgecombe County DSS

301 South Fairview Road

Rocky Mount, NC



Gates County DSS

122 Main Street

Gatesville, NC



Greene County DSS

227 Kingold Boulevard, Suite A

Snow Hill, NC



Hertford County Commissioner’s Room

Hertford County Office Building #1

704 North King Street

Winton, NC



Jones County DSS

118 NC 58 North

Trenton, NC



Martin County DSS

305 East Main Street

Williamston, NC



Nash County DSS

120 West Washington Street

Nashville, NC


Spaulding Resource Center

600 South Pine Street

Spring Hope, NC


The Beacon Center

(Formerly Edgecombe-Nash Mental Center)

500 Nash Medical Arts Mall



Northampton County DSS

9467 NC 305 North

Jackson, NC


Farm Assistance

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is providing Farm Service Agency emergency loan assistance to farmers who suffered losses during Hurricane Irene. The loans are a result of the disaster declaration requested by Gov. Perdue on Aug. 29 and approved by President Obama.

The counties designated for assistance are:  Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Roberson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

State and federal assessment efforts continue and more counties could be added later.  

Farm Service Agency offices in the affected counties are taking applications for physical and production losses through May 1, 2012.