Butterfield, Rush, and Clarke Joint Statement on Nomination of Geoffrey Starks to the Federal Communications Commission

Jun 5, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Representatives G. K. Butterfield (D-N.C.), Bobby L. Rush (D-Ill.), and Yvette D. Clarke (D-N.Y.), released the following joint statement on President Trump’s nomination of Geoffrey Starks to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to replace outgoing FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn:

“We congratulate Geoffrey Starks on his nomination to the Federal Communications Commission.  He is an eminently qualified and highly accomplished public servant who, once confirmed, will continue Commissioner Clyburn’s legacy of protecting consumers, giving a voice to the most vulnerable, and holding wrongdoers accountable.  We are pleased that Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer considered and valued our recommendation of Mr. Starks.  As members of the Congressional Black Caucus and the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, we are confident that Mr. Starks will be a strong voice on critical issues before the Commission, particularly those impacting our most vulnerable communities and communities of color.  We call on the Senate to confirm Mr. Starks without delay.”

On March 7, 2018, the members sent a letter to Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer urging him to recommend the nomination of Geoffrey Starks.  The letter can be viewed here.


The Federal Communications Commission is comprised of five commissioners, each of whom serve five-year terms, and are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.  US law requires a 3-2 split in which there are three commissioners from the majority party and two commissioners from the minority party.  Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel currently fills the other Democratic seat on the Commission.