Butterfield Blasts NC Senate and Calls on House to Reject Anti-Voting Bill

Jul 25, 2013
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congressman G. K. Butterfield (NC-01) condemned the North Carolina Senate for passing House Bill 589, the so called Voter Information Verification Act, which would have a devastating and regressive impact on the ability of North Carolinians to vote and called on the House to reject final passage.  The Senate’s action today is one of the final steps before the bill goes to Governor Pat McCrory for his signature.

“The Anti-Voting Bill being considered by the North Carolina legislature is blatant in its goal to limit the ability of North Carolinians to exercise their Constitutional right to vote,” said Butterfield.  “The legislature’s mean-spirited and overtly discriminatory insistence on disenfranchising North Carolina voters is reprehensible.  Those who have advocated for the passage of this egregious bill should be ashamed.” 

The bill would eliminate same day voter registration during early voting; restrict early voting by a full week causing long lines on election day and discouraging people from voting; and also require that registered voters show a government-issued photo ID before being permitted to vote, among other harmful changes.

“This action will reverse a generation of electoral progress for African Americans in North Carolina,” Butterfield said.  “Much of this progress was fought and won through the courts.  All North Carolinians should be outraged with this discriminatory legislation and should not sit idly by and see these deplorable changes turn back the clock on the advancements that so many have fought to obtain.”

Butterfield vowed to request that US Attorney General Eric Holder challenge the changes to the election law because they clearly dilute minority voting strength – a violation of the Voting Rights Act and the United States Constitution.

The bill will be voted on later tonight by the North Carolina House of Representatives and, if passed, will be forwarded to the Governor for his signature.